Quiz 2013 - Scoil Íosa Website

Go to content

Main menu

Quiz 2013

Useful Links/Archive > Archive

Quiz Time

Credit Union Quiz 2013
This year as always we took part in the Credit Union as always. The team consisted of Barry Cribbin, Conal Caulfield, Neil Carney and Alannah Nolan. There were 12 rounds consisting of 6 questions each. It took place in the Parochial Hall on the 1st of February. We ended up tying for 1st place and our tiebreaker question was ‘Name as many Irish Presidents as you can’. We got six Irish Presidents and qualified for the Chapter Finals.
We went to Hotel Ballina in Ballina on the 3rd of March for the Chapter Finals. The same as last time we had 12 rounds of 6 questions. Going into the 11th round. We ended up coming 4th position with Achill (the current All-Ireland Champions coming 1st). The questions were extremely hard and the teachers said they couldn’t answer a lot of them. Next year’s team have a lot to live up to!
By Alannah Nolan


Mayo  Cumann na mBunscol Sports Quiz Winners
2012 & 2013

Sports Quiz 2013
On the  of the Conal Caulfield, Neil Carney, Barry Cribbin and Dara Healy were on route to the Regional Sports Quiz in Claremorris Boys school. We started practising in October 2012 hopeful of winning the quiz two years running. We practised regularly with the help of our mentor Mr.Kevin Henry. We overcame the first hurdle on our quest to retain our county title by winning the regional quiz with an outstanding score of 96/100 well ahead of our nearest rivals Meelickmore NS.
With the our hopes high of winning the county final we went to ‘The Welcome Inn Hotel’ in Castlebar. With the quiz starting in seconds the nerves were high and we were excited. Half way through the quiz we were five points clear. In the end we were nervous about the score but then they announced that we had won by fifteen points ahead of everyone.
When we got back to school, We were praised by many and especially because we had won two years in a row. Hopefully next year the other classes can make Scoil Í
osa the first school to win three years in a row.

By Conal Caulfield

Cumann na mBunscol Sports Quiz winners 2012

Back to content | Back to main menu